Dancing Rain

My Life Inspired by My Loves

Halloween Twist on 7 Layer Dip

on October 24, 2014

Looking for a festive appetizer for an upcoming Halloween party or work potluck? Try putting a Halloween twist on an old favorite: 7 layer dip.

Seven layer dip is a classic party dip in my family; in fact, my mom is a pro at it! I’ve found that it’s pretty easy — and actually not very expensive — to make, despite all the ingredients and steps involved. I got the spider web design inspiration from Pinterest (of course) and put my own spin on it. In all, I spent about $15 and 20 minutes to make a delicious dip for my Halloween party guests to enjoy! Check it out.

image

What You Need:
Items are listed in order used, from bottom up
Oval or round serving dish (mine is plastic with spider decorations on it, $1 at Dollar Tree)
2- Roma tomatoes, sliced ($1)
1- 15oz can Refried beans ($1.25)
1- Roma tomato, diced ($.50)
1- 8oz pkg shredded cheese ($2.50)
2- Hass avocados, mashed ($2.50)
1- small can large pitted olives, diced ($1)
1- 16oz tub of reduced fat sour cream ($1.50)
1- plastic bag (sandwich or zip ok)
Plastic spiders (pack of bugs, $1 at Dollar Tree)
1- large bag of your choice tortilla chips ($3.50)

How To Make It:
1. Prep your ingredients as specified above.
2. Start layering, starting with the tomato slices for your bottom layer border.
3. Spread the beans, then diced tomatoes, cheese and mashed avocado.
4. Sprinkle olives on top.
5. To add the sour cream layer in the spider web design, I used a plastic bag as a piping tool. Scoop about 3/4 of the sour cream into the bag and twist the top closed, letting out all air. Snip one of the bottom corners of the bag and begin piping your spider web, just like you would with frosting.
6. Place one or more creepy plastic spiders decoratively on the plate.
7. Serve with chips and enjoy!

Tips:
1. I suggest pre-mixing the avocado with 1 or 2 tsp of chicken bouillon for better flavoring. Try it!
2. You could add a layer of sour cream after the beans if you want more of it.
3. Substituting bean dip for the refried beans also works well, if you can find a good bean dip. Be careful, as some bean dips are spicy.
4. For a thinner web design, snip a smaller corner from your plastic bag. The bigger the opening, the thicker your web lines will be.
5. Keep the dip refrigerated if you won’t be serving it right away.

If you try it, please share your pics and let me know how it turned out!

3 responses to “Halloween Twist on 7 Layer Dip

  1. kaceyoster says:

    It was so festive and delicious. Wish I ate more!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. kahht says:

    Amazing! I’ve yet to try a 7 layer dip, but I don’t know what’s stopping me. I guess it’s a bit late to try this festive creation, but maybe I can come up with my own angle for the next holiday. Thanks for the inspiration.

    Like

    • Miss Abarkey says:

      Thanks for the comment. I highly recommend 7-layer dip. It’s delicious! Please let me know you like it when you do try it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

